Lady Amber’s Tours~Jen Wylie’s Tales of Ever~Book Review and Promo

Image

Review

Fans of Suzanne Collin’s series, Hunger Games, or J.K. Rowling’s, Harry Potter will thoroughly enjoy Jen Wylie’s, Tales of Ever. Tales of Ever is a constant death thrilling adventure until the very end, AND there is a freaking love interest in the mix, which made reading it more kick @ss.

In a place where nothing is as it seems, sixteen year old, Misha is propelled into a world where survival is the only way to live.

Misha learned to deal with the loss of her father at a young age, and when tragedy comes around again by the death of her mother, she is left as a ward of the state…until an unknown relative discovers her. The story really picks up here when Misha’s long lost uncle takes her to the safety of her new home.

Of course, safe is relative and her uncle learns why Misha and her mom were hidden for so long. Misha is told that her father is in alive…but in a different world? Since she was born with the full power to wield fire like her parents, Misha is labeled as wild, unstable. So, with a quick, forceful push through a portal into another world, Misha finds herself in Ever. Shit just got real.

Falling into a near deathtrap, Misha discovers plants, creatures, the sky and other means of ‘normal’ have transformed into a living nightmare. Giant, poisonous spiders, killer ducks, dragons and more fill the pages with constant worry. However, she’s determined to find her dad…and stay alive.

Soon enough, Jadus, a human-ish (swoon worthy) guy swoops in, saving Misha before certain death (of course!).

Still, hell has no ending while in Ever and the adventure only grows more troublesome.

Hunky Jadus and Misha are separated, forcing Misha to find her way to safety alone and also to search for her dad without Jadus’s capabilities to exist, survive in Ever. Crap, I just wanna tell you all what happens, but I can’t. That wouldn’t be fun, right? The story takes off from page one and before you know it, you’re finished with the entire book. I’d love to read more about Ever and by that I really mean—read more about Misha and Jadus! I really heart him, or whatever he is. Great job, Jen! Continue scrolling down to read special excerpts and find out how to stalk, I mean follow, this fabulous author 😉

Image

Tales of Ever

(Volumes 1-6)

By

Jen Wylie

January 10, 2014 by Untold Press www.untoldpress.com

Fantasy/Paranormal, YA 10+

(84 000+ words, 250pages)

~Tales of Ever is suitable for readers 10 and up. Originally written as a novella series, it has been reworked and is now available as a complete novel~

Blurb 

A few months ago, I was a normal girl. Life sucked, and just like everyone else, I took the simple things for granted. At least until I got this new power, a “gift” mom called it. Apparently, I’m a firestarter. I didn’t want to be. I didn’t ask to be. It would be cool if it wasn’t so dangerous and I knew how to control it. When an uncle I’d never heard of showed up to take care of me after my mom died, I should have been grateful. As it turned out, my whole family isn’t normal and more than a little bit crazy. I thought things couldn’t get any worse. I was wrong.

They banished me to Ever.

* * * * *

Welcome to Ever.

Ever; a deadly realm where feared, powerful, and dangerous magical beings are banished. It’s not a world, but a magically created prison you can never break out of. Who, or what, made Ever? I’ve no idea. They were powerful, and cruel. That is all I can tell you.

Ever is like, and unlike, every other world. Nothing is safe. Safety is a dream. Ever is a nightmare. Few survive their first day. Nothing is what it seems. If something appears safe, it isn’t. If something appears dangerous, well it is, but probably more than you think.

Ever has no sun, no moon, and no stars at night. Time is told by the ever changing color of the sky where portals open, dropping new inhabitants or new terrors. Time does pass. Don’t worry, you won’t get old. You won’t live that long.

The landscape changes without reason from desert to jungle. The flora isn’t safe at any time. There is food, if you can find it without getting eaten yourself. Most plants and animals are poisonous. So is the water.

Are you afraid? You should be. This is the end. It gets worse of course. Remember the portals? Do you think angels come through? Innocent people rarely do. Mostly, it is evil people, people too powerful to kill. Their magic works here. The creatures are worse.

Do you understand? Well, you will eventually, or you’ll die. There is no escaping Ever.

Ever.

Image

ASIN: B00HSCHK3I

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/20498455-tales-of-ever

~Available at all Amazon stores~

US: http://www.amazon.com/Tales-Ever-Volumes-1-6-Wylie-ebook/dp/B00HSCHK3I/

UK: https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00HSCHK3I

Image

Bio:

Jen Wylie resides in rural Ontario, Canada with her  two boys, Australian shepherd and a disagreeable amount of wildlife. In a cosmic twist of fate she dislikes the snow and cold.

Before settling down to raise a family, she attained a BA from Queens University and worked in retail and sales.

Thanks to her mother she acquired a love of books at an early age and began writing in public school. She constantly has stories floating around in her head, and finds it amazing most people don’t. Jennifer writes various forms of fantasy, both novels and short stories.

My website: www.jenwylie.com

My blog: http://jlwylie.wordpress.com/

Twitter: @jen_wylie

Goodreads:  http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4499919.Jen_Wylie

Facebook fan page: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Jennifer-Wylie/151266004895266

Amazon Author page: http://www.amazon.com/Jen-Wylie/e/B004HQ9XD8/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_1

~Excerpt 1~

Fire.

I see it everywhere.

It started a year ago, maybe more. I don’t remember. Images of fire appear more now than they did before.

Flames always dance just out of sight. They flicker on school lockers, in windows, anywhere. Everywhere.

Now they hover over the road as I run. If I didn’t know better, I’d think they were only mirages from the heat. They aren’t real. They never are. Nothing burns, there is no heat. I hate seeing them. Every time they appear, I wonder if I’m crazy.

Glaring at my watch, I round the block. School sucked today, as usual. I’ve run farther and faster than I normally do, trying to push all my stupid problems away while trying to ignore the fire.

The last year I’ve been unsettled. Sometimes I get uncomfortable hot flashes. I don’t understand why. Mom gets them sometimes, too. She says not to worry about it. I wish I could, but I know I’m too young for such things and they have been coming more often.

I can’t tell her about seeing the fire, or about the dreams. She wouldn’t believe me and I don’t want to put more stress on her.

We do Yoga and that helps. So does running. I’ve done a lot of both as the months pass and things only get worse.

It hasn’t been the best year. Mom lost one of her jobs. She found another, but it doesn’t pay as much. Lack of money really stresses her out.

I hope she’ll let me get a decent job soon. Something other than yard work and babysitting. I want to help. Mom looks so tired lately. She’s really starting to worry me.

In a few months, I’ll be sixteen. I haven’t asked about getting my driver’s license. I’m sure Mom won’t bring it up either. We don’t have money for a car, anyway. We don’t even have money for lessons or the stupid license test.

What would I do if something happened to Mom?

I have no idea. We don’t have any really close friends. A few people we sort of talk to, like our old neighbor, Mrs. Green. No family either, at least none that Mom ever talks about.

I don’t have any friends at school. Even though I go to a public school, most of the kids there have money. We don’t, and it shows. People can be so fickle. Of course, I don’t really try to make friends. I fall into the quiet and shy group. Years ago I gave up trying. Too many times I thought I’d found a friend and then got stabbed in the back.

Of course seeing fire sets me apart, too. The fear of someone finding out how weird I am forces me to keep my distance. I know normal people don’t see fire like I do, but some seem obsessed with it. I watch them play with matches and lighters outside at school and I only shake my head.

I’m not obsessed. What I see scares me. If I could, I’d choose to never see the flames again.

~Excerpt 2~

I squeeze my eyes together tightly, trying to bring the fire under control. I can do this, I can…

The fire roars around me. Not good.

I feel cool fingers on my face and my eyes snap open. Jadus stands right before me, his face set and intense.

Certainly he knows how dangerous it is to touch me? No, he doesn’t. He doesn’t know…oh god…

“Think of water, rivers, ice, snow,” he whispers, staring into my eyes.

I do as he asks; terrified I’m going to kill him. Amazingly the fires die. Letting out a shuddering breath I squeeze my eyes closed again for a moment. “Sorry.”

He chuckles. “Powerful gift you have there.”

“Dangerous.”

He shrugs. “You’ll figure it out.”

“I hope so,” I mutter, looking around the large charred area surrounding us in a little bit of horror and a little bit of awe.

He gives me a moment to silently collect myself before gesturing for me to follow him. “Come on, I want to show you something.”

We head up the path, higher and higher. Finally reaching the top, he leads me over to the edge. My eyes grow wide as I stare out at the landscape before me. I can see the pink desert in the distance. The rainbow jungle spreads out in a line below. I can see a huge river too, and beyond it another kind of forest. The more I look the more I see.

“That’s a whole lot of Ever.”

Jadus points off to our right and I see a portal open high in the sky. That can’t be good.

Turned out height doesn’t matter. Not this time.

Something huge flies out.

My mouth drops open. Is that a dragon? The beast roars and flies off as the portal closes.

Jadus looks over at me and chuckles at the look on my face. He spreads his arms wide. “Welcome to Ever.”

 Image

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s